I’m glad we had times together just to laugh and sing a song.

I'm glad we had these times

Dr. Seuss sure knew how to hit the nail on the head.

This one pulls me on two different heart strings.  Both are rather emotional for me, so bare with me (some of you know I get a little emotionally attached to things).

The first one is the great BC class of 2013.

Although I did not graduate with the class, I always considered myself one of them, and I hope they felt the same way.  We were like a giant, awesome family and it was just fantastic.

If we can be credited to nothing else, we can surely be known as the class that laughed.  We just liked to have fun, plain and simple—and we enjoyed each other’s company.

I don’t remember a single time when all of us were together and there was not any laughter.  Collectively, we all had so much joy in life and we longed for everyone to share in that joy.  It was really a beautiful thing.

College is a time where you are meant to learn the ways of the world and discover who you are and who you are meant to be.  It’s supposed to be a bridge between childhood and the real world.  The problem is, nobody tells you how hard it is to either step off that bridge and leave the four years behind your, or to watch those you love step off and leave you behind.

“Seems like we just got started and then before you know it, the times we had together were gone.”

When you think of all the times we shared, you can’t help but wonder what could have happened had we two more years together.  I mean, we probably would’ve solved all the world’s problems if we had more time.

That’s the crazy thing.  We had just enough time to come together as a group and become a family.  We had just enough time to help each other form into the men and women we are meant to be.  Sure, we would all love to have the opportunity to continue to live next to each other for the rest of our lives, and maybe that will eventually happen, but for now, that must not be the best route for us.

God gave us to each other for a purpose.  We helped each other grow–to see what we wanted from the world and to understand what we had to give to the world.  And then, when we were strong enough to be apart from each other, God separated us—allowed us to spread our wings and fly.  Maybe someday we will all return to each other, but for now we are able to keep the parts of us that have been formed by our friends and use them to influence the world in the same way we have been influenced.

It’s hard, but that’s just the way the world works.

Another heart string this quote pulls at is the one that connects to the deep love I have for my Daddio.

Now, this probably isn’t fair because I can honestly find a way to connect my dad to every single moment of my life, but this one really makes me see his wonderful face.

For those of you who knew him, you will probably first remember his smile and his voice.

I have never seen a smile light up a face the way my Dad’s did.  It was infectious. Sometimes I thought his face was going to burst from smiling so big.

And his voice!! It was commanding and soft all at the same time. And he loved to sing.  He would belt out any song at any time and it was just wonderful.  He was one of those people who would sing a song that matched whatever word or phrase you had just said (this is a trait I have seemed to pick up on).

I wouldn’t trade any of those memories for anything and I would give so much to experience them again.

When someone leaves you before you are ready to let them go, it is tough.  All you want to do is erase time until you get back to the days when everything is perfect—to the day when you are riding up to Minnesota with your Dad ready to go to your first ever Gopher hockey game (they beat North Dakota in that game, if you were wondering), or even to the time when you hug him for the first time after hearing he had cancer.

You never think there is going to be a day when he is not with you.  He’s your Dad, after all.  He’s supposed to be there at your college graduation, he’s supposed to help you find your first apartment, he’s supposed to calm you down when you don’t know what you are going to do with your life, and he’s supposed to walk you down the aisle.  That’s what Dads do.

We often take for granted all the time we have with the ones we love.  We never know when that time is going to end, and usually it will end when we least expect it –right when things are beginning to start.

There is one little part of the quote from Dr. Seuss I wish I could change, and that is when he states “the times we had together were gone.”  I don’t really agree with that.

Yes, we will never experience those times again, and we will never have the opportunity to make new times with those we have lost, however those times are not gone.

Gone, to me, means they are forgotten, never to be remembered or cherished.  Gone means a total loss.

These times are not gone.  They are carried with us forever in our memories and in our hearts.  They are relived every time we see a picture, hear a song or watch a video that reminds us of the ones we have lost.

Nothing we do in our lives is ever gone.  We carry everything with us because what has influenced us in the past has become a part of us, and so those who we have cherished live on though us.

Trust me, it’s real.  I see my Dad every time I look at my siblings, hear an Eagles song, watch a football game, play hearts, drink a beer—literally in almost everything I do.  He is not gone to me, he is still alive, but he has moved on to a place where I can’t follow.

I think Dr. Seuss is trying to tell us to take it all in.  Live life.  Be who you are.  Love who you are with, because before you know it, people may have to move on without you and you don’t want there to be any doubt, in your mind or theirs, that you lived all you could with them.

3 thoughts on “I’m glad we had times together just to laugh and sing a song.

Leave a Reply

