365 days of Joy: Week 1

Hello Friends!

I’ve decided to do 365 days of joy this year (inspired by the wonderful Raquel Kato, who’s love notes you can find here). Some posts my be long, some may be only a sentence, but the important thing is finding joy in your everyday life, because there are so many things to be joyful about, but I tend to forget that. I’ll be posting one every 7 days, since I started on January 1, and hopefully I can stay consistent with this. So here we go, week 1!

small paychecks
This saying could have been the official slogan for this week because it was full of no money and lots of fun!

01.01.15

Happy New Year!  I had the gift of bringing in the New Year with the bestie Katlin Clancy. She came all the way from Iowa for 11 days just to visit me!! We spent New Years Eve in the castle and at midnight we ran outside to see the sky light up with fireworks from every direction–it was amazing! New Years brunch was a cheese andpâté buffet, which has become one of my favorite meals over here, and then that night Katlin and I went to Brussels, where we found my new favorite bar in the city, Fat Boys Sports Bar. There we watched the Oregon/FSU bowl game, making it the first game I had watched since the World Cup–I was very happy, because Football is greater than Soccer. Always.

NYEGetting ready for NYE celebrations!

01.02.15

OFF TO PARIS!!! So many wonderful things happened this day. Not only was it dang near 50 degrees out but we also witnessed the longest sunset I have ever seen and we got to see the Champs-Élysées sparkle with Christmas lights–it was pure magic!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetGlorious sunset in Paris!

01.03.15

Rainy day in Paris, but that didn’t stop us. We covered the Eiffel Tower and Notre Dame…and everything in between. We ended our day with Mass at the Chapel of the Miraculous Medal, where the uncorrupted body of Catherine Labore can be found. After that a quick snake of a baguette and gelato made the day complete!

IMG_5870There she is! What a beaut.

01.04.05

Our last day in Paris was spent in the Montmartre area. It was full of beautiful things. We started with the Montmartre cemetery, which is a spectacular sight, and then moved to Sacre Coeur, and finished in the Artist’s corner, where we were stopped every 30 seconds by someone who wanted to paint us. After almost missing our bus home, we left Paris toward Brussels exhausted but extremely happy from our amazing trip. Back in Brussels we went back to Fat Boys Sports Bar and had great wings, great beer, watched great football and had wonderful conversation (we also discovered that I still have most of the State nicknames memorized).

IMG_5986The most American thing I have had in a long time…and it was amazing.

01.05.15

It was a sad day saying goodbye to Katlin. Her visit was so wonderful but all too short; she needed to stay two more months, at least. The best thing about her visit was just the time hanging out together. Somedays we didn’t do anything spectacular but they were still great days. Thank you so much Katlin for coming over!! After she left I just wandered around Brussels for a little while and then made my way to the Cathedral and sat in front of Jesus in the Tabernacle for a while, and fulfilled by yearly promise to pray my daily Chaplet of Divine Mercy for the conversion of the those fallen away from the Church.

IMG_5989Brussels was still decorated for Christmas 🙂

01.06.15

Back to work today! All the kids were sick and cranky, but Lambert-Joseph kept telling me how much he missed me when I was gone and Elizabeth can finally say my name (well, kind of).

IMG_5773Elizabeth and Lambert-Joseph are really starting to like selfies.

01.07.15

A day off meant finally sleeping! I got to work on my puzzle (which is really hard, by the way, Maeve and Bobby!), read (The Three Musketeers), and write one of my many travel blogs that I am way behind on (you can check it out here if you would like!) and I day dreamed about Paris some more.

IMG_5982The Montmartre Cemetery

That’s all for now, folks! Talk to you again soon. Love and Miss you all!

2 thoughts on “365 days of Joy: Week 1

Leave a Reply

