365 Days of Joy: Week 2

I’ve decided to do 365 days of joy this year (inspired by the wonderful Raquel Kato. You can find her 365 days of Presence here). Some posts my be long, some may be only a sentence, but the important thing is finding joy in your everyday life, because there are so many things to be joyful about, but I tend to forget that. I’ll be posting one every 7 days, since I started on January 1, and hopefully I can stay consistent with this. So here we go, week 2!

ab7d848bb0818fa3cfc96b8d150e8182This was my quote of the week. In Europe I’m surrounded by extravagance, in the States I’m surrounded by the constant want for the everything and anything that is shiny and new, but more and more I am finding that I am more satisfied with the simple, everyday things–and that’s not a bad thing. As you will see, my joy this week came from little, simple things that made me smile and fill my soul with God’s glory.

01.08.15

Lambert-Joseph’s new favorite song is “Take me out to the ballgame” and he makes me sing it on repeat…which I don’t hate 🙂 Also, we made it through bath time with only 2 of the 3 kids screaming bloody murder–I’ll take it.

IMG_6004Clemens-August is so cranky after his bath, but he is so dang cute!

01.09.15

While playing with our new connector toys the kids got for Christmas, Lambert-Joseph made one for me as a present. I told him it looked like something out of Star Wars. He liked that so much, for the rest of the day he would ask me if his toys looked like Star Wars. Just doing what I can to create more nerds around the world.

01.10.15

Watched “Heaven is for Real” and cried like a baby through most of it–it was a good cry though. Skyped with the Gonzalez family and Grace, and “ate” dinner with them. Joseph yelled at me for not saying grace with them because “Maddie, it’s a really good thing to do.”

01.11.15

Talked to Munga and Bompa on the phone for Munga’s birthday. Spent my Sunday afternoon listening to Classical music, which always reminds me of Daddio. It was wonderful.

01.12.15

Found out one of my best friends since 4th grade got engaged!! Congratulations Emily and Kevin!

01.13.15 

Watched an amazing talk by Fr Mike Schmitz, who is a priest in the Diocese of Duluth. The beginning is the MC, Chris Stefanick, who is also amazing, and then Fr. Mike comes out and starts talking. At first I was skeptical because I’ve heard a lot of these “finding your soulmate” talks and that’s what it sounding like it was going to be, and I almost stopped listening. But since this video was recommended by the Prince of FOCUS (Brock Martin) I decided to stick it out and I’m so happy I did.  The last half hour was some of the most powerful stuff I’ve listened to in a long time. It just filled my soul with so much joy. Jesus is so good!  I hope all of you take the time to listen to this. It’s an hour long, but it’s well worth it, I promise (plus, talks like this are easy things to multitask to, but toward the end you will probably just stop whatever else you are doing and pay full attention because it’s awesome).

01.14.15

Happy anniversary to my Mom and Dad!  Everyday, or almost everyday, I get an afternoon pick-me-up. For some reason today it just made me so happy. Everyday, right around 3:20, my time, Jimmy sends me a message on skype. It’s nothing big, usually just “hi maddie, what’s up,” but it’s fantastic. That kid is something else.

So that is a my week! Hope you all enjoyed the little things in my day! I hope you all have a great rest of your week! Love you!

p.s. seriously watch the video if you get a chance!

Leave a Reply

