365 Days of Joy: Week 6

I’ve decided to do 365 days of joy this year (inspired by the wonderful Raquel Kato. You can find her 365 days of Presence here).  Some posts my be long, some may be only a sentence, but the important thing is finding joy in your everyday life, because there are so many things to be joyful about, but I tend to forget that. I’ll be posting one every Wednesday, and hopefully I can stay consistent with this. So here we go, week 6!

courageI received a snapchat from Marissa Lueger (long time friend, old roommate and awesome person) earlier this week with this quote–she said it was her new obsession and thought I would like it. We clearly share a brain wave because I found this quote a little while ago and I added it to my “100 best quotes in literature” (I’m not finished with the list but I’m working on it). This past week it was exactly what I needed (thank you, Marissa!!!). This short, simple quote contains an magnitude of power. Having courage is no simple task–being courageous can open you up to a whole new set of hardships and struggles–however, on the flip side, it can, and most likely will, open you up to a whole new set of opportunities and possibilities.
“Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that
something else is more important than fear.”
Ambrose Redmoon
Fear is a disabler. It tears you down and beats you up–and worst of all, it’s everywhere. The devil drives fear into our hearts because he wants us to be weak, he wants us to be vulnerable, he wants us to be discouraged. He uses fear to make us give in to his temptations and turn away from Truth. Lucky for us, there is One greater. God gives us courage, and through Grace, we can receive it. Courage, as Redmoon says, doesn’t get rid of fear, but it helps us overcome it.  This past week happened to be the week that I fear the most–it was the week when my father died four years ago. I don’t think there will ever be a year when I don’t fear this week; however, my Dad didn’t let the devil win, so I couldn’t either. Through the Grace of God I was able to find Courage in my heart, and find joy in my dreaded week.

02.05.15

Ok, so I know this is a reoccurring post, but I Skyped Kilty today and it was, per usual, awesomely joyful. Not only are her boys hilarious and always so happy to see me, but she is the bomb.com. I mean, the woman is 9 months pregnant and while we were Skyping she was watching a tutorial on how to put her 18 month old on her back with her Moby wrap. I’m convinced there is nothing she can’t do. Oh also, her and Dominic looked like they were Moby models…

IMG_6511

02.06.15

I really thought I wouldn’t find a single thing to be joyful about today. I thought I would wake up and it would be rainy and gray. I figured the kids would be moody all day and my temper would be short with them. I really was expecting the worst….I was so wrong. The kids were happy-go-lucky in the morning when I got them up and their cheerfulness was contagious. Then when I came down I found Leila (my host mother) with an Oreo Cheesecake, made from a recipe given by my Uncle Mike (the one who works at the Cheesecake Factory), so you know it’s going to be good. Apparently, Leila had contacted Bryan and tried to get him to ship over a cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory, but it was all too complicated, so he was able to get her the recipe from Mike and she made her first ever American Cheesecake! It was very good and I was so touched by this act of love! Also, they finally got to taste why I love cheesecake so much–they never understood because they are used to German Cheesecake which is sour and much more cheesy…so not as good 😉  To top off the day I got to talk to my sister Mary and Mary Granzow on Skype and it was HILARIOUS.  Also, I had Guinness…my Daddio tradition.

I would like to thank everyone who wrote to me and sent kind words today. I know many of you loved my dad very much and miss him terribly. Since we can’t have him back physically, I hope you all take comfort knowing that we all have the greatest Guardian Angel watching out for us–and don’t think he’s not pulling a few strings up there, I mean, c’mon do you really think the Seahawks were good enough to beat the Packers on their own? 😉

All jokes aside, thank you all for making this day easier–you helped me find my courage more than you know!

IMG_0723 IMG_1748

02.07.15

Lambert-Joseph got his first board game and can’t get enough–it’s so cute to see him get all excited over it! Elisabeth tries to play but that usually results in her chucking the dice as far as she can and then we have to take a 5 minute break to try and find it.

02.08.15

Sunday was a wonderful “me” day. The family was in Antwerp visiting Henri’s family and I stayed back and had some quality time with my books.

02.09.15

Stayed up really late watching Psych and slept in really late because it’s my day off…two good things. Also Skype date with Katlin…always needed.

02.10.15

This face.

IMG_6524

02.11.15

Today I went to the Bible Study I told you about last week. Instead of breaking into groups we did a program on the love languages (I got Quality Time–like I always do) and it was very fulfilling. The lady talking also spent a lot of time talking about forgiveness and it was just something I really needed to hear.

And that’s a wrap. I don’t have my Rome blog post up yet (because I’m ridiculous and I put it off and now I’m way behind again), but it will be up soonish, I promise! So until next time, I love you and miss you all. Pax.

Leave a Reply

