365 Days of Joy: Week 16

I’ve decided to do 365 days of joy this year (inspired by the wonderful Raquel Kato, author of the Story of a Rose blog).  Some posts my be long, some may be only a sentence, but the important thing is finding joy in your everyday life, because there are so many things to be joyful about, and I tend to forget that. I’ll be posting one every week, and hopefully, along with joy, I can gain a little consistency in my life. 😉  So here we go, week 16!

the best things...There is nothing better than traveling with someone who you love. That’s what I got to do this week when my sister Mary Kate came to visit me in the Netherlands! While we have our sisterly quarrels and attitudes, there is always something reassuring about the love of sisters. No matter what I know she will always be there for me, and I hope she know’s I’m always there for her.  I’m so glad I got to help her experience something she has wanted to do since she was little: go to London! Seeing her here was so much fun and being with her was just perfect! Thank you Mary so much for coming to visit me, it truly meant the world to me!

 

4.16.15

First day with Mary! The kids and I showed her all around the Kasteel. It’s so nice to have my sister here!

4.17.15

Arrived in London! First win of the day was finding Kombucha at the train station, our second win was finding our way to our hostel, and our third win was Mary having her first legal beer of her life!

4.18.15

First full day of London was so exciting and fun! We did everything Sherlock related and saw most of the city! I only put up a few pictures, but this weekend I will have a blog post on goingdutchtravels.wordpress.com, so stay tuned for that!

4.19.15

After Mass at Westminister Cathedral, we made our way to Wimbledon…home of the only sport Mary actually likes. It was so fun to see her extremely excited about stepping foot in this iconic tennis club. After that we went back and explored London more and finally we finished the day eating at Jamie’s Italian–the restaurant of Mary’s favorite cook, Jamie Oliver.

4.20.15

Our last day was a half day, but we still fit in so much! Mainly, seeing The Globe Theatre and Platform 9 3/4.  Again, check my travel blog this weekend for a more detailed account of our trip!

4.21.15

Surprisingly, we didn’t take many pictures today. We spent the day playing with the kids and trying to figure out how much of my stuff could fit in Mary’s suitcase.  Oh…and Mary made BOMB Enchiladas and they were amazing!

enchiladas

4.22.15

For Mary’s last day we went to Utrecht, a city in the Netherlands. However, we didn’t do/see much because it was very cold when we got there and we didn’t want to pay for museums, so we walked around for a little while, did some touristy shopping, and then went back home. Nothing too crazy happened after that because we had to be off in the morning at 4:30 to catch Mary’s flight back home. Oh, also, I finished the book Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed –I’ll post a review of it next week!

hollandshoes

 

And that’s my wonderful week for you! Spending it with Mary was so much fun, not only because I finally had a travel buddy, but because she is just a blast to be around!

Talk to you all next week, and again, look for my London post on my travel blog this weekend!

Leave a Reply

