365 Days of Joy: Week 18

I’ve decided to do 365 days of joy this year (inspired by the wonderful Raquel Kato, author of the Story of a Rose blog).  Some posts my be long, some may be only a sentence, but the important thing is finding joy in your everyday life, because there are so many things to be joyful about, and I tend to forget that. I’ll be posting one every week, and hopefully, along with joy, I can gain a little consistency in my life. 😉  So here we go, week 18!

8b39af641637a3c04ab962d6a45f7a4fUgh. I’ve started that awful process of searching for and applying to jobs for when I get back to Iowa at the end of July. If you are ever feeling too good about yourself, just job search for a little while and you will find soon find out how many things you are not qualified to do…trust me, you will be humbled very quickly. It’s hard staying positive in this process, and it’s hard sticking with it–I feel under qualified for every job I see, and it makes me feel like I will never find my true calling (if I even have one).  But, even if I feel under qualified and inexperienced, I still have to do it, because money is a real thing that I need, so I am giving it to God and trusting that He will help me find the courage and strength to continue this job search, and help me remember that I do have some nice things about me and so someone out there will hire me … hopefully!

4.30.15
Welcome to the world Bernadette Marguerite Kautzky! My dear dear friends Aaron and Alex Kautzky added a beautiful new member to their family! I can’t wait to get back to Iowa and meet the little princess!!

5.01.15
My sister Grace’s senior pictures went up online and they are beautiful! It’s so cool seeing her all grown up, but her pictures show how she still has all the joy she had as a child! You can see her pictures here!

5.02.15
My teenage past came back to me when I found Moulin Rouge playing on TV…I happily sang along to every song and teared up just like I did when I was 16.

5.03.15
Happy 5th birthday to my nephew Pepe!! This boy is so hilarious and sweet and we had a very entertaining Skype birthday call!

I made chicken wings for the kids and they we taken completely by surprised when I told them it was ok to eat with their fingers! They were cracking up the entire meal and it was so fun!
5.04.15
Went to a nearby thrift store for a little therapy on my half day off. The parents had been in Lourdes for the past five days, so it was nice to have a little time away after working double time.

5.05.15
I brought the celebration of Cinco de Mayo to the family here by making Tacos and drinking Corona! It was Muy Bueno!

Also, my host parents had gone to Lourdes with the Order of Malta and they brought me back an honorary pin from the Order because they while I am not apart of the Order, I helped them achieve the mission of the Order to serve those who are sick. It was a very special gift from them.

5.06.15
Put up my second Dutch Alfabet blog post! My nephew asked me to make him a Dutch Alfabet to teach him about the Netherlands, and so I’m using my blog as the median for that! You can check it out in the Dutch ABC’s category on my menu bar!

And that’s my week–I can’t believe I don’t have pictures to post…this has got to be a first!! Hope you all had a good week too and I’ll write again soon!

Leave a Reply

